Exploring Japan: Honmoku, Yokohama – August 2, 2009

On August 2, I met a friend of mine and he suggested going to Sankeien.  Neither of us had been there before.  So, to get there, we went to Negishi station and took a bus to Honmoku.  This post is dedicated to the Honmoku neighbourhood, and Sankeien will follow.  Honmoku is a rather high class area that also has many American style houses.  It’s near Yamate, about halfway between Yamate and Negishi.  The first thing we saw in Honmoku was a very interesting vegetable shop.  Take a look at the pictures!

A school bus?  This bus was converted into a vegetable shop.

A school bus? This bus was converted into a vegetable shop.

This is a main road going through Honmoku.

This is a main road going through Honmoku.

This is where I was, Honmoku Sakuramichi.

This is where I was, Honmoku Sakuramichi.

A look down Honmoku Sakuramichi.

A look down Honmoku Sakuramichi.

This is one really big house!  Honmoku has a lot of large, expensive houses.  Very rich neighbourhood.

This is one really big house! Honmoku has a lot of large, expensive houses. Very rich neighbourhood.

This is a quaint European-looking shop.  I believe it was a bakery.

This is a quaint European-looking shop. I believe it was a bakery.

Sankeien is only 300 metres away!  That's why I was in Honmoku.

Sankeien is only 300 metres away! That's why I was in Honmoku.

These are American style houses.  Actually, this area was home to many Americans, which is why there are a lot of American style houses.  This group of houses is in a gated community, where you can only enter if you're invited.

These are American style houses. Actually, this area was home to many Americans, which is why there are a lot of American style houses. This group of houses is in a gated community, where you can only enter if you're invited.

A more Japanese style home in Honmoku.  It seems to have a nice garden.

A more Japanese style home in Honmoku. It seems to have a nice garden.

That’s it for Honmoku.  As I promised, I’m going to start using Google Maps in posts.  So, here’s the map for Honmoku!

Next time will be Sankeien!

5 Comments

Filed under Kanagawa, Naka-ku, Yokohama

5 responses to “Exploring Japan: Honmoku, Yokohama – August 2, 2009

  1. Masaya

    Hey, What are you doing?
    Did you go to Hon-moku area? Great!!
    That’s very frat and American culture area right?
    I’ve just passed them by my car and not visited them. Because of bad traffic.

    By the way,
    I went to [Algonquin park]to watch the colored leaves. I guessed it’ll be earlyer than best timing before I visited.
    However What a fascinating spot it is!!
    This park made me reconfirm Canada is huge.

    • Hi Masaya. It’s been a while. Yeah, the area was a bit American looking.

      That must have been great to see Algonquin Park. It’s very colourful, isn’t it? It’s still green here in Japan, though.

      • Masaya

        Thank you for your reply.
        “It’s been a while” is simillar meaning to “Long time no see” right?
        Algonquin park wasn’t perfect colored but color (red, yellow and green)
        gradation was beautiful !! Moreover It’s difficult to change all leaves color I heard. Is Algonquin Park famous for Canadian?

        It still green in Japan isn’t it? I guess so too. November is the best season in Japan. I’m feeling temparature gap betwween Yokohama and Toronto. It’s still cold(Max is about 15℃) but it is autumn.
        Winter has not been yet.I’ll die in winter 🙂

    • Yeah, “It’s been a while” is similar to “long time no see.”

      Algonquin Park is a well known park for autumn leaves. I think it’s considered one of the best places to see it.

      Still green here. Good luck with winter 🙂 I’ve been told it’s already snowed in western Canada.

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Jay Dee in Japan

Leave a comment