Life in Japan: Touring in Kyoto

I’ve begun a weekly series on my writing blog, I Read Encyclopedias for Fun, about life in Japan. This is my tenth anniversary of arriving in Japan, and also my last year of living in Japan. We’ll be moving to Canada in April 2016. So, I’ve asked my readers to ask me questions about living in Japan. I’ll be answering one question a week. This is the first in this series.

I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

In honour of my tenth anniversary of living in Japan, I am starting a series where I answer questions about Japan.  I previously asked for questions and got several, and I’ll do them every week, once a week.  I’ll be answering them in the order that I received them.  So, here is our first question.

K E Garland had this question:

We’ll be visiting Japan in June. One of our trips is to Kyoto. Do you think a guided tour is best or looking around on our own?

Kinkakuji, the Golden Pavilion. Source: Wikimedia Commons, public domain. Kinkakuji, the Golden Pavilion. Source: Wikimedia Commons, public domain.

Thanks for the question. Despite living in Japan for ten years, I haven’t actually had the opportunity to visit Kyoto.  I will visit eventually on subsequent trips back to Japan, but probably not during my last year in Japan.  However, the question is a good one, and is applicable to almost anywhere in…

View original post 365 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Japan, Kyoto

Leave a Reply

