Snowy day in Yokohama

When I experienced my first snow in Yokohama, I couldn’t believe how everyone used umbrellas.  I quickly realised why.  This isn’t your typical Canadian snow.  This stuff is wet.  It sticks to you and melts right away.  It’s just as bad as walking in the rain, and it’s often mixed with rain.  Also, the snowflakes clump together to create massive supersized floating snow structures.

Today, it snowed.  It snowed a lot.  This was probably one of the biggest snowfalls I’ve seen in Yokohama.  While it may not seem like much, it’s a big deal here.

20130114-230754.jpg

This morning, before the snow started to accumulate.

20130114-230810.jpg

This afternoon, the snow was coming down pretty heavily.

20130114-230828.jpg

Early evening, on my way home.

That last picture shows why snow here is such a nuisance.  It’s extremely wet.  It may look like snow, but it’s really snow coating slush.  As I was crossing the street, I stepped in what appeared to be pretty solid snow, but ended up being a 10 cm deep slushy puddle with white snow on top.  I completely soaked my feet, and had to endure a 30 minute train ride, a wait for the bus, and a 10 minute bus ride.  When I got home, my feet were so cold, I took a quick shower to warm me and my feet up.

I’m looking forward to several days of sunny weather.

2 Comments

Filed under Japan, Kanagawa, Nishi-ku, Weather, Yokohama

2 responses to “Snowy day in Yokohama

  1. Quiet slushy snow🙂 Enjoy!
    I received pictures form my family in Totsuka in the morning. Looked beautiful with a white blanket.🙂. It snowed when I was in Japan but not enough to last for the whole day though! Again thanks for the blog. I really like Japan and you blog brings back fond memories. Cheers mate!

Leave a Reply

