I want more shikuwasa

Shikuwasa is a citrus fruit from Okinawa that tends to show up in juice or soda form during the summer in the rest of Japan.  I don’t know what it is about Shikuwasa that I like so much, but I really love Shikuwasa soda.  I recently had some Shikuwasa water, which was also pretty good.  It’s a pretty sour citrus fruit, but it tastes really good.  Last year, I had some Shikuwasa soda from Okinawa Bottlers, but I haven’t seen any this summer.  All we could find was Shikuwasa soda from Co-op which comes in tiny cans.

Have you ever tried Shikuwasa soda?

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “I want more shikuwasa

  1. I can’t say that I’ve ever tried Shikuwasa soda, but you have sparked my interest. I’ll have to keep an eye out for it when I’m back in Japan 🙂

  2. Kimmy

    Hi! Glad to read u”r article about shikuwasa. It’s is a kind of original wild orange tree in Taiwan. Actually, Shikuwasa was brought to okinawa in The world war II and been used by japanese. It is also famous bacause “The Longevity Village ” that people in the village use it as a sauce. Well ,I can’t talk more bacause my poor English. Sorry to bother u ..Good bye

Leave a Reply

