The sun is set to broil

No, this is not about the CME (coronal mass ejection) headed to Earth right now, this is about summer!  If you remember, I wrote about the seasons in Japan, and I named one of them “Broil.”  Well, it’s time to broil.  The last couple of days have been quite hot and humid, and the heat just doesn’t go away at night.

Today, it was 32 degrees (Celsius for my American readers).  Tomorrow will be 32, as well.  Then 33 on Tuesday and 31 on Wednesday.  Doesn’t that sound nice?  But what an effect it has on people.  The trains get a bit smelly, people are wiping the sweat off their faces and necks with handkerchiefs, and constantly telling each other that it’s hot.

So, what can we do to relieve this heat?  Here are some of my ideas that seem to work for me.

  1. Have some ice cream.  I recommend Mint Crunky, which is a summer special ice cream bar coated with chocolate.  And it’s mint ice cream!  Delicious!
  2. Spend some time in a convenience store.  They keep them cold, mostly to keep the food from spoiling.
  3. Spend some time in a supermarket.  They’re also cold for the same reason.
  4. Turn on your air conditioner.  Expensive, and not really recommended so much at this time, as there is a bit of a power shortage in Japan.  Conserve power!
  5. Drink something cold.  Anything.
  6. Sleep without any covers.  Nothing worse than sweating in bed.
  7. Take a cool shower.  That feels so good!

What do you do to beat the heat?

9 Comments

Filed under Weather

9 responses to “The sun is set to broil

  1. Drink something cold is best. It’s too hot to sleep well, tonight.

  2. A few things we do to beat the summer heat

    1. Drink Ice Cold Beer
    2. Soak in a hot onsen
    3. Eat spicy food
    4. Stay in the mountains where it is usually cooler
    5. Eat Ice cold kakigori (ice shavings)

  3. tom

    I’m hoping for some dry heat for a change. My area has been so humid it felt like I stepped into hell. Oh wait a sec, It might have been when I went to work when I stepped into hell. Oh, I can’t remember anymore. 🙂

  4. Rurousha

    Several WordPress blogs have recently rejected my comments. I suspect it’s because I use a Blogger address, or am I just paranoid? So I’m going to try an experiment: leave a comment without adding my blog address. Let’s see if it works.

    Summer solutions? Watermelon. Walk slowly. Wear loose cotton clothes, preferably in white or khaki. (I push the limits of the dress code as much as I dare at work.)

    Today I switched on the air con at home for the first time this summer. I don’t like air con, so I try to avoid it, but today I had to throw in the (soggy) towel.

    PS: I hope your child is feeling better?

    • Strange that it won’t publish your comments with a Blogger address. I haven’t heard of issues with that before. I did have issues commenting on Blogger blogs with my WordPress address, though.

      My daughter’s feeling fine now. She’s enjoying chewing on a rubber giraffe toy at this moment.

      Air conditioning is hard to avoid right now. Our dog is old and would get sick if it’s too hot inside. My daughter tends to sweat a lot, which isn’t good for her skin. Rashes. Don’t need her to be itchy, or else she won’t sleep and neither will we.

  5. Rurousha

    Ha! It worked! I fear WordPress doesn’t like Blogger addresses. They’re like two bickering siblings.

    PS: Dunno how Japan-Australia circumvents this problem. ^^

Leave a Reply

