Japanese food I could never stomach

I’ve lived in Japan for more than 7 years now. I have tried many foods here, and some are my favourite foods. I love sushi, sashimi, gyoza, ramen, yakisoba, udon, curry, and shrimp tempura just to name a few. But there are several I have tried and didn’t like or I refuse to try because they seem revolting in some way.

I’ve tried octopus, but didn’t like it. It’s the texture and lack of flavour. I don’t like the taste of squid, either. I’ll have nori seaweed in small quantities, but I don’t like entire sheets of it. Nori potato chips are delicious, though. I will not touch shirasu. It’s tiny baby fish. I don’t like eating the entire body of animals, and especially with eyes and organs still attached. I won’t eat horumon, or the internal organs of beef and pork. I don’t like chicken cartilage. I don’t want my neat crunchy. I don’t particularly want to try natto. The smell and stickiness is unappetizing. I’m avoiding shiokara, as well. Fermented fish guts? No thanks!

This is just a sample of what I don’t like. I’m a picky eater. Always have been. On the other hand, I have tried basashi, or raw horse meat, and didn’t mind it. I also love Marmite. I know, it’s not Japanese, but it’s something I love that many don’t like.

What do you avoid eating?

10 Comments

Filed under Food

10 responses to “Japanese food I could never stomach

  1. Tried Shirako once and have no desire to ever eat or see it again. Blegh.

    • That’s another I won’t try. I don’t want to eat fish sperm! I don’t like fish eggs, either. Or sea urchin. I just don’t want to touch them at all.

  2. Like most things in Japan and have tried a lot of weird and wonderful stuff but probably wouldn’t try either Shirako (fish sperm) or Zazamushi (river insects) again. I will give anything a try once🙂

    Japan Australia

  3. “I’m a picky eater.”

    That’s what I was gonna say.😉

    And to answer your question, there is nothing I’ll avoid eating at least once as long as it’s edible (except maybe balut).

Leave a Reply

