Hawk attack at Yuigahama Beach!

On Sunday, I was at a beach barbecue at Yuigahama Beach in Kamakura, and we had some visitors.  All along the beach, there are signs warning of hawks, as they like to attack unsuspecting people who are carrying food.  I saw several people get attacked, losing their food in the process.  One happened to be my friend, and he lost his corn.  They can be quite aggressive, and they were present in large numbers.  It was hard to get some good quality photos of the hawks, but I tried my best.  Below is what I was able to capture.

A single hawk flying above.

Another hawk, a little closer.

Those are all hawks. There were plenty of crows around, but they didn't get mixed up with the much bigger hawks.

See the hawk in the middle? It didn't hit anyone, but it was probably going after someone's food.

They were everywhere!

The kites were also out. The plastic type, not the bird.

2 Comments

Filed under Japan, Kamakura, Kanagawa, Nature

2 responses to “Hawk attack at Yuigahama Beach!

  1. I got a female hawk that swoops down and catches food in mid air when I go to my favorite beach. I like Hawks but Crows…not so much.

  2. I’d be wary of carrying food around the area. But other than swiping food off unsuspecting humans, they don’t attack people do they?

Leave a Reply

