Am I a magnet for crazy people?

You may remember my encounter with a bit of violence involving some drunk and/or right-wing nationalist last August.  That was on the anniversary of the end of the Pacific War in World War II.  Well, yesterday, I had another enjoyable experience (said in a sarcastic tone).  I was on my way to work yesterday morning, and waiting for the train at Shonandai station, as I always do.  I found a really nice spot under an air conditioner vent, as it was a hot morning.  About a minute later, an old man, around 80 years old, came around the corner.  He looked like a typical old man except for one thing, the scroll hanging around his neck.  It had a message painted in black on it, all in Japanese, of course.  For a moment, I thought he was blind, because he had black sunglasses and was walking a bit strangely.  However, he came straight toward me, and I thought I’d get out of his way, because his eyesight may be bad.  Well, after I moved, he followed me a bit, then settled into the spot I was waiting at.  So, I thought, just a crazy old man.

It wasn’t until later that I remembered that it was the anniversary of the Hiroshima atomic bomb.  It immediately struck me that he was most likely a right-wing nationalist.  That’s 2 years in a row that I’ve been targeted by one of those nuts.  Nothing really happened this time, and it was more strange than infuriating, but I seem to be attracting these kinds of people.  It never happened before last year.

I know some people might suggest that I push back at him, but I’d rather avoid any kind of scuffle.  I was on my way to work, and I can’t afford to have any problems when I’m going to work.  But I have a message for people like this:  mind your own business and get over it already!

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Japan

4 responses to “Am I a magnet for crazy people?

  1. Yeah, I agree with you, pushing back or any other kind of more or less violent act is not the right reaction to have.

Leave a Reply

