Exploring Japan: Engakuji in Spring – March 26, 2010

This was my third stop in my Spring in Kamakura walk.  Engakuji is located near Kita-Kamakura station, and is easy to get to.  It’s not as large as Kenchoji, but it is still quite large.  It was founded in 1282, and is one of the most important Zen Buddhist temples in Japan.  Hojo Tokimune, a once ruler of Japan, is buried here.  Enjoy the spring pictures!

Barely blooming cherry blossoms in front of Engakuji's Sanmon.

Cherry tree and temple buildings.

This is a great tree. Notice the caves in the cliff behind it?

Another collection of temple buildings. Engakuji is a large complex.

At the back of the temple complex, there's a garden with plenty of flowers.

A closeup of some of the flowers.

Engakuji is a very green temple. Plenty of trees surrounded by the hills of the Kamakura Alps.

As I said, Engakuji is very easy to get to.  I used to be able to walk there from my old apartment in Ofuna within 15 minutes.  Here’s a map:

2 Comments

Filed under Japan, Kamakura, Kanagawa, Nature, Temples

2 responses to “Exploring Japan: Engakuji in Spring – March 26, 2010

  1. Anonymous

    I wish to have a house built zen style, and looked at this website for some ideas. I wished you could had shown more of the old fashioned/traditional homes. However, I did see some architecture of thatched and what looked like tin, and wood roofs. Ever go back, take more pictures of homes.

    • Thanks for the comment. I usually don’t take pictures of private homes, but I have taken some. One of the difficulties about taking pictures of traditional homes is that they’re usually surrounded by a wall and many trees in the garden. It feels intrusive, but when I have the chance to get a great picture of a house, I may take it.

Leave a Reply

