Exploring Japan: Tokyo Tower at night – March 21, 2010

On the same day that I visited Ueno Zoo, I went to Tokyo Tower.  It was nighttime, so there would be great night views of Tokyo.  Tokyo Tower is located in Minato Ward, near Roppongi, Azabu Juban, and many embassies.  Tokyo Tower is 333 metres tall, and is a larger replica of the Eiffel Tower.  It’s painted orange and white according to aviation laws.  It’s a TV antenna, but with the analog terrestrial TV broadcast signals ending next month, Tokyo Sky Tree is taking over for digital broadcasts.  There are two observation levels in Tokyo Tower.  The pictures below taken from the tower are on the lower deck.  Enjoy!

Tokyo Tower is brightly lit at night in this picture from down the street.

Looking way up in this closeup.

Looking way up! This is right at the bottom of the tower.

Tokyo looks great at night.

Lots of tall buildings.

Here's another view.

Sorry, this one was a bit blurry.

In Tokyo Tower, there's a window looking straight down. Can you do it?

Tokyo Tower isn’t hard to find.  It’s really tall.  But here’s a map of the area:

This post is taking part in “Show Me Japan #29!”

14 Comments

Filed under 23 Wards, Japan, Minato-ku, Tokyo

14 responses to “Exploring Japan: Tokyo Tower at night – March 21, 2010

  1. Great shot. I like Tokyo tower more than Sky tree.I don’t know why.
    Perhaps this makes me nostalgic. 🙂

  2. Tokyo Tower gives the romantic vibe to me. One of the reason we went to Tokyo for the first time was because of J-Drama : Over Time which featured Tokyo Tower a lot in the background. 😉

  3. The last photo you took is bit scary to me as I am afraid of heights! Because of that, I haven’t been to up to now… But I am glad that I went to the World Trade Center when I lived in NYC… The word nostalgic reminds me of Twin Tower…
    Have a wonderful Sunday night:)

  4. Nice pics bro! Got Godzilla smashing that thing on my Schools blog 🙂

  5. My Japanese school is near Tokyo Tower. I forget it’s there because I can’t really see it then sometimes, when I have to walk in a different direction, I look up and I’m like oh shit, Tokyo tower!

    Personally though, I’m all about the sky tree!

    • The Sky Tree is quite impressive, isn’t it? I saw it last year when it hadn’t been topped out yet. It was already incredibly tall. Can’t wait until it opens. Thanks for the comment!

  6. I would not try the glass floor thingie. Too scared!

Leave a Reply

