The architectural style of Katase-Enoshima Station

Many train stations in Japan have a pretty ordinary look, but there are some that are designed to look good. One of them is Katase-Enoshima Station on the Odakyu Enoshima Line. It’s quite colourful. Have you visited the Enoshima area of Fujisawa and seen this station?

This is my entry for the 26th weekly “Show Me Japan!”

Update:  I checked into the design of the station.  It was designed to look like the Ryugo-jo, or Dragon Castle, which is from Urashima Taro.

14 Comments

Filed under Fujisawa, Japan, Kanagawa

14 responses to “The architectural style of Katase-Enoshima Station

  1. Looks Chinese.

    Excuse me for sounding ignorant….

  2. I drove by that station last summer because my father-in-law who was driving was lost. Didn’t think much of it at the time.

  3. It does look like a Chinese temple.😉

  4. Yeah, I’m not sure where he was going but I didn’t butt in and ask since my wife was annoyed with his driving. I stayed out of it.🙂

  5. That’s a cool station!!! I’m sure there’s a story behind it too and a reason why it looks like that.

    • I love seeing unique stations.

      I just checked Wikipedia, and I now see the reason for the design. It’s supposed to be like the Ryugo-jo, Dragon Castle from Urashima Taro.

  6. I just be tempted to go visit and see the station myself after seeing it here. ^^

  7. If you visit Enoshima, you can definitely see the station.

Leave a Reply

