I want to be a better blogger

Blogging regularly can be difficult.  Sometimes, I feel like I don’t have the time or desire to blog something.  Other times, I have far too many pictures to put into a blog post, and I procrastinate.  Procrastination is my biggest problem, I think.  But I’m going to work on that.  I have some big posts coming soon from last year.  There are so many things I need to work on, Japan by Train, photos from the past year, and photos from before June 2009.  Believe me, there are probably over 2000 photos to go through and post, and I keep adding more.

Blue Shoe of Just Another Day in Japan posted a 2 part blog post about being a better blogger.  Click here for part 1, and here for part 2.  It’s very useful advice for anyone who wants to have a more effective blog and just be better at blogging.  Some advice I have taken, such as using Twitter and Facebook (please click on these and follow for updates).  I’m also going to make an effort to comment on other blogs more often.  Blogging can bring you into a community of people with similar interests, and you can meet some great people.  The past few months have changed my attitude toward my blog.  I want to do better and provide more content more often.

I’ll admit that I do want to see more people visiting my blog, as well as more comments.  I will reply to all comments.  I have several aims for this blog.  First is to show my friends and family what I’m doing and what I’ve seen in Japan (and hopefully get them to visit).  Second, I want to help those outside of Japan see what it’s like in the country.  Third, I hope to provide people with some useful information if they plan to visit.  I love comments.  Most bloggers love comments, as we want to see what our readers think.  Feedback is wonderful!  So please comment often!

Finally, I have a few things planned for the future of the blog.  One is to get to work on my backlog.  Second, I’m planning to take some more walks like I did last April.  I’m also planning to buy a new camera, one that is very good quality, but also not too expensive.

If you have any suggestions, please leave a comment!

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Announcements

10 responses to “I want to be a better blogger

  1. Good Initiative.🙂

  2. Hey man, I’m really glad you found my thoughts useful!

    I know what you mean – I’ve suffered from procrastination before, too. One useful thing you can do is to jot down ideas you have and store pictures or other media in a folder where you can come back to them. When you have a chance, sit down and lay out a few posts (unless they’re really long and in-depth) and then you can space them out over time or use them when you’re too busy to write.

    Seeing pictures and thoughts (or videos?) from your walks sounds cool. Looking forward to it.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks. All my photos are in labeled folders on my computer. The thing is getting them online and writing captions. Although for my next big post, there will be no captions, except for a few of the photos.

      Today, I actually took a video while walking along a river. I took plenty of cherry blossom photos, too.

  3. The pics from my iphone are better than my regular camera and it has made recording things around me so much easier. A smartphone is a good buy if you don’t have one because you can upload stuff pretty quick.

    I almost took a cherry blossom pic but I took pics of the inside of an AV shack instead.😉

  4. I just downloaded a screen capture app to grab stills from iphone vids and a editing app for a whoping 450 yen total. I LOVE this new toy!!

    • Your iPhone is new? I’ve been enjoying mine for almost 1 1/2 years🙂 Blogging is easy with it, though. I use it with wordpress, twitter and facebook quite often. In fact, my phone was very useful to me the day of the earthquake. I couldn’t email or call, but internet worked, and I could tell everyone by facebook that I was ok. No video editing apps, though.

Leave a Reply

