So, what am I going to do?

I’ve been asked a few times by friends and family about what I’m going to do.  The simple answer is that I’m going to keep living as I always have.  Get up, go to work, enjoy work, come back home, sleep, enjoy my days off, just live like always.  No, I am not leaving Japan.  I’m not leaving the area, either.  Only once during this entire time did I feel any kind of fear or panic, and that was during the earthquake.  The nuclear aftermath doesn’t worry me.  I’m not the least bit worried about the situation.  It’s under control, radiation is dropping, power is being restored.  In fact, reactors 5 and 6 are now in cold shutdown.  Danger of radiation outside the 30km zone is negligible.  Life right now has some inconveniences, but that’s all they are, just inconveniences.  Most things have returned to normal.  Work is completely normal, for one thing.  No, I am not going to leave.  I’m safe, and so is everyone else.  And it seems that the western media is starting to clue in to the fact that they have overblown everything.  They panicked a lot of foreigners living in Japan.  They’ve been irresponsible.

Also, I just wanted to add that 75% of French people who live in Japan have gone back to France.  The joke’s on them, radiation levels in France are higher than Tokyo’s.  Wow.

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life

4 responses to “So, what am I going to do?

  1. Julie H.

    Hi

    I just recently started following your blog. I had the luck of flying into Tokyo for a vacation right after the earthquake hit. Flying out tomorrow on my scheduled flight. Got to say it was an experience.

    You are right, mostly what I have experienced are inconviences. Nothing like what has happened to the north of the country.

    Yes about France which has more nuclear reactors than any other country.

    I am looking forward to coming back to Japan. Because I know they will fix what needs to be fixed and things will be safer than before.

    • Thanks for the comment. I guess your trip to Japan wasn’t exactly what you expected. I’m glad to hear that you look forward to returning to Japan. What were you able to see?

  2. Hear hear! Glad to see some cool heads prevailing among all this.

Leave a Reply

