Picture of the Week 43 – Skating in Yokohama

It’s not easy to find many places to skate in Japan, but there are a couple of places in Yokohama. Earlier this week, I went to the Shin Yokohama Skate Center to go skating. There’s public skating every day, and it’s open all year. You can even go skating there in summer. There were many figure skaters practicing, as well as a few hockey players and other people. There are very few rental hockey skates, unfortunately, but I was able to rent a pair. It costs ¥1200 to skate and ¥600 to rent skates. Have you tried skating in Japan?

Skate on over to “Show Me Japan,” which this post is participating in.

2 Comments

Filed under Japan, Kanagawa, Kohoku-ku, Picture of the Week, Yokohama

2 responses to “Picture of the Week 43 – Skating in Yokohama

  1. Because I have two left feet and all that ice is way too slippery for me, I don’t skate. But there is a big skating rink in our town, my students tell me it gets very crowded on weekends. 🙂

  2. When I was in elementary school, my father took me the skating rink, which ran out of business more than 10 years ago…
    I did no know that people in Yokohama can enjoy skating throughout the year!!
    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

