The problems with drivers in Japan

I think that overall, people in Japan are good drivers.  They need to be to drive on the narrow streets and park their cars in ridiculously small garages that allow no space to actually open the door to get out (this is still a huge mystery to me how they do it!).  But there are three things that Japanese drivers do that annoy me.

First, when a traffic light changes to red, instead of stopping, one person just has to race through the red light as if it were an emergency.  Quite often, I see people running red lights like that.

Second, I’ve seen so many people driving with their headlights turned off at night.  Maybe they forgot, maybe they didn’t.  But I’ve seen people turn their lights on a few seconds after starting to drive.  That’s really dangerous!

Finally, it seems that many people don’t use their turn signals as they were meant to be used.  Instead of signaling their intent to turn, they signal while they are turning.  That is utterly useless!  Just tonight, I saw someone stopped at a red light, then start driving forward when it turned green.  I thought they were coming through the intersection toward me, so I waited for them to pass before crossing the street (it’s a narrow street that people usually don’t drive down, as they usually turn at that intersection).  But instead of going straight, he or she started turning, then signaled!  That just annoys me a lot.

Do you have any driver pet peeves in Japan?

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life

Leave a Reply

