Inspired to walk in Japan

It’s been a year since I started walking around neighbourhoods near train stations, and I’ve completed 15 stations for my Japan by Train series.  That’s a bit more than one station per month.  Each time, I’ll walk around 10 km, exploring the neighbourhood and taking pictures of anything significant (temples, shrines, major shopping areas, street views, train stations, and more).  I have yet to post my first tour, which I did a year ago!  I want to get to work on that.

These 10 km walks have been very interesting, but at the end of April this year, I walked from my apartment in Kamakura to the island of Jogashima in Miura City, which is about 35 km away.  That took me 8 hours to complete, and was a great experience.  I was sore for a couple of days, but I wanted more.  I’ve also hiked up 3 mountains (Fuji 5 years ago, Takao-san 2 years ago and Oyama last year).  When the weather gets cooler, I want to make 2 more challenges.  First is to walk from Kamakura to the town of Oiso, which is about 20 km to the west.  For this walk, I’ll follow the coastline.  The second challenge is to walk the entire route of the Yamanote Line in Tokyo.  This is about the same length as my Kamakura-Jogashima walk.  I’d be walking in a circle around the central part of Tokyo.

You may want to ask why I want to do this.   Well, there are a few reasons.  I like to explore new places, of course.  Also, it’s good exercise.  But the big thing is I love the challenge.  I’ve also been inspired by a New Zealander who’s walked both the Tokaido and Nakasendo (from Kyoto to Tokyo).  His blog is called The walking fool.  It’s a fascinating read, actually.  His Nakasendo walk starts at this blog post, and his Tokaido walk starts at this post.  Yes, both blog posts start in New Zealand, but they’re relevant.  Now, I don’t plan on doing the same thing he does, but I want to take smaller walks that take only a few hours.

Some other possibilities I’ve been considering are walking from around Kanazawa-Hakkei Station in Yokohama down to Miurakaigan station in Miura City (this would be the eastern side of Miura peninsula), as well as walking from Ofuna to Yokohama station, following the Tokaido Line.  Any other suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life

Leave a Reply

